CMA Logo


The Comrades Marathon Association (CMA) held its Annual General Meeting this past weekend (Saturday, 24 November 2018) and elected five new Board members in compliance with its Constitution. The electoral process was overseen by the Independent Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC).  

With the CMA being founded as an Association, the main function of the Board is to formulate the strategic policies of the organisation and to ensure the sustainability of The Ultimate Human Race. Importantly, the Board is further tasked with retaining the ethos and traditions, synonymous with this iconic event. 

The following members were elected for the forthcoming term of office:

  • Sifiso Nzuza
  • Mqondisi Ngcobo
  • Celi Makhoba
  • Linda Hlongwa-Madlala
  • Steve Mkasi

The remaining Board members are:

  • Cheryl Winn
  • Zinhle Sokhela
  • Isaac Ngwenya
  • Adrian Stowell

Cheryl Winn was elected the Chairperson with Sifiso Nzuza serving as the Vice Chairperson.

Winn welcomed newly elected member Linda Hlongwa-Madlala onto the CMA Board and thanked outgoing members Neville Thomas and Morgan Pillay, for their longstanding loyal service and contribution to Comrades Marathon.