21 former Comrades Marathon winners participated in the 1921 Comrades Marathon Tribute Run, a symbolic re-enactment of the 1921 Comrades Marathon which saw 34 starters take off from the Pietermaritzburg City Hall 100 years ago on 24 May 1921.

Covering a distance of 2.2km, the Tribute Run finished at Comrades House and included the participation of former Comrades Marathon Winners, Quadruple Green Number male runners and Triple Green Number female athletes.

The 34 runners were:


AchievementMen (25)
Winner 1976 – 78 & 80Alan Robb
Winner 1981 – 88 & 90Bruce Fordyce
Winner 1991Nick Bester
Winner 1992Jetman Msuthu
Winner 1995Shaun Meiklejohn
Winner 2000/02/04Vladimir Kotov
Winner 2001Andrew Kelehe
Winner 2003Fusi Nhlapo
Winner 2005Sipho Ngomane
Winner 2012Ludwick Mamabolo
Winner 2013Claude Moshiywa
Winner 2015Gift Kelehe
Winner 2016David Gatebe
Winner 2019Edward Mothibi
47 MedalsBarry Holland
47 MedalsLouis Massyn
43 MedalsVic Boston
42 MedalsMike Cowling
42 MedalsWietsche van der Westhuizen
42 MedalsZwelitsha Gono
42 MedalsDave Lowe
41 MedalsTommy Neitski
41 MedalsDave Williams
40 MedalsJohan van Eeden
40 MedalsBoysie van Staden
40 MedalsShaun Wood
AchievementWomen (9)
Winner 1985 – 87Helen Lucre
Winner 1992Francis van Blerk
Winner 1993Tilda Tearle
Winner 1998Rae Bisschoff
Winner 2015Caroline Cherry (Wostmann)
Winner 2016Charne Bosman
31 MedalsPat Fisher
30 MedalsKim Pain
30 MedalsPat Freeman

These 34 participants were be set off by Msunduzi Mayor, Cllr Mzimkhulu Thebolla at 09h00 outside the Pietermaritzburg City Hall.

CMA Race Director, Rowyn James said, “This was a symbolic race which was run in honour of the very first Comrades Marathon that was held on 24 May 1921.”

James added, “Thanks to CMA sponsor, Mr Price Sport, our 34 athletes were outfitted in running kits which took us back all the way to the 1920’s. It is also noteworthy that this was the largest gathering of former Comrades Winners since 1983 when a reunion was held of all 25 living winners at that time.”