The 13th edition of the much-loved community road running affair, the Greater Edendale Race, took off beautifully on Sunday, 17 November, as the community of Edendale woke up to an overcast but great day for road running.

Hundreds of athletes, spectators, local officials, road running dignitaries and members of the media converged on the FNB Wadley Stadium for the ever-popular 10km race, with Msunduzi Municipality Mayor, The Honourable Mzi Thebolla firing the start gun.

The race is a corporate social investment initiative of the CMA which hosts the annual event in conjunction with the Msunduzi Municipality, Msunduzi Eyethu and the Msunduzi-Pietermaritzburg Tourism Association.

It was a spectacular sight as hundreds of community members lined the streets cheering the runners on. More than R21,000 in prize money was presented to the winners in various categories; as well as additional lucky draw prizes.

Mbuleli Mathanga of Phantane AC once again claimed First Position in the Men’s Race while Jenet Mbhele of Umzimkhulu AC maintained her dominance in the Women’s Race. 

The results of the Men’s and Women’s races as well as the Walkers are as follows:

Open Men:

  1. Mathanga Mbuleli                             Phantane A C                30:36
  2. Sibusiso Kubheka                             Ethekweni A C               31:15
  3. Bongani Zwane                                Phantane A C                31:19
  4. Thobani Chagwe                              Phantane A C                31:37
  5. Matekase Lefatsa                             Maxed Elite                   32:02

Men 35 to 39:

  1. Matekase Lefatsa                             Maxed Elite                   32:02
  2. Siyabonga Ndlovu                            Amaghwe A C                34:36
  3. Thomas Tsepo                                 Speed Exp                    34:54

Men 40 to 49:

  1. Michael Khambula                           Phantane A C                34:25
  2. Siphele Zondi                                 Maritzburg City               36:44
  3. Vumo Ngubane                               KRS                             38:47

Men 50 to 59:             

  1. Willie Majombozi                             Boxer A C                          42:27
  2. Mzwandile                                      Masikane  Maritzburg City    44:49
  3. Benjamin Mlaba                              Maritzburg City                   45:34

Men 60 plus:

  1. Joseph Dumukude                           Protea Striders             49:30
  2. Jackie Jackersad                              Save Orion                  64:37
  3. Jeff Armstrong                                Athletic North               66:55


  1. Mpathi Bong                                    Speed Exp                    34:21
  2. Thulang Khambula                           Phantane A C                35:17


Open Women:

  1. Jenet Mbhele                                   Umzimkhulu A C          35:39
  2. Sane Mbanjwa                                 Phantane A C              38:35
  3. Nontobeko Ntuli                              Orcas Academy            41:30
  4. Zama Mokwena                               Nedbank A C               43:06
  5. Slindile Hlatswayo                            Ethekweni A C             44:03

Women 35 to 39:

  1. Zama Mokwena                               Nedbank A C                 43:06
  2. Makhunga Mabusi                            Ind                              46:25
  3. Ayanda Gwala                                 Nedbank A C                 49:18

Women 40 to 49:

  1. Sibongile Ziqubu                              Nedbank A C                 45:00
  2. Ntsiki Mbambo                                 Natal Carb                    46:51
  3. Tholekale Ngobo                              SAPS Striders                48:57

Women 50 to 59:

  1. Ntobifikile Mtungwa                          Vertical Space                60:26
  2. Debbie Kruger                                  SAPS Striders                60:48
  3. Hendrina Paulse                               Corr  Serv                     73:53

Women 60 plus:

  1. Pat Fischer                                       Stella A C                    58:19
  2. Denise Johansen                              Ethekweni A C              65:54
  3. Trish Bottom                                     Natal Carbs                 74:15


  1. Nontobeko Ntuli                               Orcas Academy            41:30
  2. Anele Dlomo                                    Maritzburg City            44:30
  3. Mini Mncwabe                                  Drak A C                     45:26



Open Men Walk:

  1. Owen Bengu                                    Maxed Elite                   67:46
  2. Mose Nhnenlethwa                           H/dale A C                    68:08
  3. Deon Venter                                    Corr Serv                      80:03

Open Women Walk:

  1. Mary Mvelase                                  Nedbank A C                  68:36        
  2. Pam Collet                                      Highway A C                   75:24
  3. Thabile Jili                                      Black Diamond                97:39


CMA Corporate Social Investment (CSI) & Charities Convener, Mqondisi Ngcobo said, “We are grateful to all of our stakeholders and volunteers who graciously made this event possible. We congratulate our winners on their achievements and all runners who completed their 10km race and earned their medal.