Click Here To Apply

Do you want to be more involved in the Comrades Marathon? Would you like the opportunity to contribute toward the future of the race? Are you keen to make a difference in the world’s greatest ultramarathon?

If so, you are invited to join as a member of the Comrades Marathon Association (CMA). The CMA is a group of passionate individuals who share a common vision and commitment to The Ultimate Human Race.

As a member of the CMA, you will receive:

  • Access to exclusive events and socials
  • Networking opportunities with other professionals and experts
  • Accolades for outstanding contributions
  • A sense of belonging and purpose

In addition, you will be able to attend the CMA Annual General Meeting at which you can review the Association’s annual performance, make proposals concerning the future of the race, vote on the appointment of future Board Members and provide feedback to the sitting CMA Board. 

Any CMA Member wishing to VOTE at the Annual General Meeting needs to be a FULLY PAID & VALID CMA Member by latest 30 June. Therefore, any CMA Member that is approved or has renewed between 1 January to 30 June is ELIGIBLE to vote at the AGM.

Membership of CMA shall be open to all persons who subscribe to the primary objects of CMA and who have applied for membership.

The CMA Board shall have the right to refuse membership of the CMA to any persons provided that refusal is not based on religious or political belief, sex, nationality or race, any application for membership shall be submitted to the Board for approval or rejection.

CMA Membership runs for a calendar year - 1 January to 31 December.

If the application is approved the applicant, on payment of any subscription or fees which may be due, shall become an member subject to the rights and obligations of other members of CMA.

The Annual Fee for Membership is R100 per individual that wishes to join the CMA.

Click Here To Apply

For information or queries please contact:

Refund Policy:

Please note that there will be no refunds for CMA Membership fees. (Refunds will only be available to unsuccessful CMA Membership applications)


1986 Derek Palframan
1986 Mick Winn #
1987 Bullet Alexander #
1988 John Godlonton#
1988 Bob Lambert #
1996 Allan Vincent #
1996 Mervyn Williams
1996 Jeff Minnaar
1996 Barry Varty#
1997 Margie Alexander #
2000 Adrian Stowell
2001 Alison West #
2002 Cheryl Winn
2005 Tony Morrison
2005 Darrel Leibbrandt #
2005 Peter Proctor
2006 Dave Dixon
2010 Jeremy Boulter
2014 Macdonald Chitja


1988 Frank Martin #
1990 Toppy Fanner#
1990 Morris Alexander#
1990 Bert Bendzulla #
1990 Vernon Jones #
1990 Herman Delvin #
1990 Ian Wyllie #
1998 Piet Van Der Leeuw #
1999 Dave Barron#
2001 Tony Morrison
2001 Darrel Leibbrandt #
2002 Theo Millar#
2003 Jeremy Boulter
2003 Ray Karg #
2004 Topsy Baillon #
2005 Bobby Maharajh
2006 Mike Bath
2006 Terence Hoskins
2010 Jeremy Taylor
2013 Ian Kerford
2013 George Roberts
2013 Neville Thomas
2013 Arnie Glasspoole
2014 Paula Dixon
2014 Eileen Hall
2014 Celi Makhoba
2014 Isaac Ngwenya
2014 Dudley St John Ward #
2015 Sifiso Nzuza
2015 Alen Hattingh
2016 Brian Swart
2017 Mike Cowling